Green Healing ~ Good Greens!

gotta go cook!

Beautiful Bok Choy! 

Lettuce ready to eat!

harvest time!

A Green Healing Happening!

Good Green Chard!

This green is good, easy to cook, and full of nutrients!

Harvesting the good greens was an exciting and definitely a Green Healing day.  I’d love to tell you more about our most recent horticultural gatherings, but today, I get to be with my family.

I’ll leave you with the images and a great recipe that a Horticulture Therapy Intern, whom I am deeply grateful to have met and know, gave to me.  I hope you’ll try it!  If you do and can, please come back and tell me if you liked it.  Also, if you have any ‘Green Healing’ recipes to share, I would love that.

A delightful and easy recipe for Chard:

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp olive oil (or coconut oil)

1 tbsp minced garlic (or more)

1 bunch of Swiss Chard

stems and leaves separated

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

pinch of salt

Parmesan cheese

Melt butter and Olive oil

Stir in garlic and onion (30 seconds)

add stems ’til soft (5 minutes)

add leaves ’til tender

add lemon juice

sprinkle with Parmesan

Thanks for visiting Green Healing Notes!  Have a Blessed Day.

4 thoughts on “Green Healing ~ Good Greens!

  1. Pingback: BlueGreen | Green Healing Notes

  2. Those lettuces look very tasty – you’re reminding me of the Before Times when I was an organic gardener. And I think swiss chard is really a gardeners secret. I’d never heard of it when I started growing it, but was amazed at how easy it was, and how prolific! It’s also pretty cold hardy so I would put a homemade poly sheeting hoop tunnel thingy over it in the fall, and harvested as late as January.
    Good memories!
    Blessings, sweet Michelle!

  3. Phylor, Thank you so much for sharing your memories here. Such lovely ones.

    I bet those apples were good. I’m not sure I’ve ever eaten that kind though. I used to get apples from neighbor’s trees growing up. Two older women grew them, but they were very stingy with their apples. Sometimes, the youngsters would take a few, but only enough to eat right then. I don’t think they missed them.

    I think Chard is one of the easiest plants to grow. That’s what we’ve been growing. My son and I missed the big harvest last week, but I was there the week before, and I still have greens left over. Yummy Bok Choy, Mixed Lettuces, and Spinach. I must admit, it is super hard for me to eat alone. I guess the dogs would eat them too, now that I think about it, only without the onions.

    Sometimes, I let the garden have my thoughts. I cry and let my tears pour into the soil. I figure Mother Nature can take it. Deep into the good soil and as far down as any roots grow. Often times, I find that when I leave a garden, or a spot of nature where I’ve worked to grow something or, just clean it up, that what was negative is a little lighter.

    With Green Healing Wishes,
    your friend,
    Michelle.

  4. I planted some spring mix type greens in a larger planter next to the hot pepper plant — I hope that they grow.
    I miss farmer’s markets where you can find swiss chard for example. Of course, what I really miss is when we rented a small house on a farm propery next to an apple orchard. There was an apple tree in our yard that was at least 80 years old. The old-fashioned gravensteins were the best apple I’ve ever eaten.
    Across the creek, the owner of the farmer would turn over as much as we wanted of the garden, and we planted corn (with pumpkins, squash, and zucchini vines in between to deter the racoons!), red potatoes, and various other vegetables.
    I had a rule — no negative thoughts or worrying when I was in the garden. It was a kind of “green therapy” before I heard the term or the process through you.
    But we left 22 years ago so I could go to grad school, and now the property is a winery. I haven’t visited the winery, but I tried the wine. Not as good as the apples — I imagine the tree is gone, replaced by grape vines going by the pictures on the winery’s web site. Oh well, I’m left with wonderful memories of summer gardens and eagles in the trees in our front yard in the winter.

Your Comments are Welcome Here!